Health and Safety Committee


The University Safety Committee supports the mission of the University by actively promoting and aggressively pursuing safe work conditions, areas, and methods for all employees, students, and guests to the University.


  • Provide a safe working environment for all students, faculty, and staff.
  • Provide the university with information to comply with federal, state and local regulations.
  • Manage infectious, non-hazardous and hazardous waste.
  • Monitor environmental conditions.
  • Evaluate and eliminate risks that can harm buildings, property, and campus community and visitors.

2020 Committee Members

Bargaining Unit/Department Member Name
EHS & RM Admin Support (minutes) Becky Gahler
MSUAASF Michelle Forliti
AFSCME - Unit 202 Curt Thomez (temporary)
AFSCME - Unit 203 Mike Cofield
AFSCME - Unit 206 Larry Hennis
AFSCME - Unit 207 Annalis Luck
Commissioner's Plan/HR Arielle Schmitz
EHS & RM / MAPE Chandler Holland
Interfaculty Organization John Paul
MMA/Residential Life Perry Conrad
MGEC Representative Mike Peters
President's Designee Rick Straka
University Security Loren Jansen
Safety & Environmental Compliance Officer / MAPE Medea Myhra
Chemical Hygiene Officer Maddie Straka
Student Representative Reauna Stiff